Sports Burst - Tragedy Strikes Flamengo

Reuters

 

by Tim Stannard

 

Youth team players thought to be amongst dead after fire breaks out at Flamengo training center

 

Tragedy has struck at Brazilian football club, Flamengo with a fire breaking out in the early hours of Friday morning at a dormitory for youth players at the club’s training center, Ninho de Urubu, in Rio de Janeiro. 

 

Police have confirmed that 10 people have died and at least three were injured in the blaze. Brazilian outlet O Globo is reporting that four victims of the fire which was reported at 5:17AM local time were members of the youth team, two were players on trial and three were club employees.

However, no official confirmation has been issued by police. "We still haven't ruled out the possibility of finding more bodies," reported a source with the firefighters.

 

Flamengo is a famous for bringing through talent such as Zico, Leonardo and most recently of all, Vinicius Junior, currently at Real Madrid. The Brazilian’s current club have been one of many to issue statements of support and solidary for Flamengo and the family and friends of the victims of this tragic event.

 

 

Solari hints at Isco training troubles as reason for exile

 

On to considerably more trivial matters and Real Madrid coach, Santiago Solari, was talking today ahead the whopping Madrid derby against Atletico Madrid on Saturday.

The big talking point was the past, present and future of Isco. On Thursday, the footballer tweeted that he was doing everything he could to get back into the Madrid team, but that he was not getting the opportunities that others enjoyed.

 

Solari gave a bit of a hint as to why the Spaniard had swiftly turned from superstar to substitute. "Football is about work and talent. You have to give everything in training and to be available when you have to play." Isco definitely won’t be on Saturday as the player left Friday’s training early with an injury.

On the other side of the Madrid demolition derby and Diego Simeone was reflecting on meeting a few familiar friends in the Wanda on Saturday, including Thibaut Courtois, a player he used to coach with the Rojoblancos - "he's a great goalkeeper who did well for us” – and also Santiago Solari who he managed while at San Lorenzo. "We have a relationship, being Argentines, and he has shown his ability at Real Madrid."

Tune into the Locker Room for a full build up of the Madrid derby with Kay Murray and the gang at 7:30PM ET / 4:30PM PT.

 

 

Arthur set for one month on sidelines to miss Barcelona crucial clashes

 

Leo Messi looks set to miss the weekend’s match-up against Athletic Bilbao for Barcelona. The footballer was not at training on Friday and Ernesto Valverde will be looking at a break in games to give the magic man a bit of a rest before the Champions League and yet more Clasicos kick in.

 

However, there was bigger news breaking from the Camp Nou world with Arthur Melo set to be on the sidelines for three to four weeks with a hamstring injury. The Brazilian is now a major doubt for the two remaining Clasicos with Real Madrid and the Champions League double-header against Lyon. Arthur has been one of the successes of the season for the league leaders.

It wasn’t all doom and gloom though. Samuel Umtiti was back training with the group and could be fit for Barcelona’s first leg, Last 16, Champions League clash against Lyon on the 19th February.

Our Sports Burst live show will bring you the coolest of takes on the news – in a nice way – at 12PM ET / 9AM PT. Just head to our beIN SPORTS USA Facebook page.

 

 

Crisis Friday featuring an awful lot of teams in trouble 

 

There is a distinct whiff of sporting crisis in the air in Friday's games across the world. 

 

Villarreal - fired a coach, hired a new coach, fired him, then rehired the first one - are second-from-bottom of the La Liga table and will be staying right there, unless the Yellow Submarine can find a win at Valladolid. That match is live on beIN SPORTS at 2:50PM ET / 11:50AM PT.

That game is preceded by another big side having a rubbish campaign with Fenerbahce at Kayserispor in the Turkish Super Lig at 12:30PM ET / 9:30AM PT. 

 

Marseille? Oh dear. The French side should be challenging for the Champions League places in Ligue but is 12 points off Lille in second. Rudi Garcia's players are facing Dijon today in a clash they certainly won't relish. That gets underway on beIN SPORTS CONNECT at 2:30PM ET / 11:30AM PT. 

Roma is in quite the Italian pickle in Serie A, down in seventh and away at struggling Chievo. A defeat for Eusebio Di Francesco would not sit well with the fans.

The XTRA is the place to be with the best action from all these games as well as a full look ahead at Saturday's Madrid derby. Join Kevin Egan at 7PM ET / 4PM PT.