Diego Forlan, Luis Suarez and the Best Ever Uruguayans Players Overseas

  • Charrua Stars
    1/17 Charrua Stars
  • Charrua Stars
    2/17 Charrua Stars
  • Enzo Francescoli (Forward)
    3/17 With Liverpool, he won the Football League Cup. In April 2014, he won the PFA Players' Player of the Year award, becoming the first non-European to win the award. As the Premier League's top scorer with 31 goals he won the Premier League Golden Boot, and shared the European Golden Shoe with Cristiano Ronaldo. He also played for Groningen, Ajax (he won 2010–11 Eredivisie), and he currently is at Barcelona.
  • Ruben Sosa (Forward)
    4/17 He played for Zaragoza, where he won the Copa del Rey in 1986, scoring in the final against FC Barcelona, Lazio, Inter Milan, Borussia Dortmund, winning the Bundesliga title in 1995–96, Logroñés, Shenhua and Racing Club.
  • Cristian Rodriguez (Midfielder)
    5/17 He played several seasons in Portugal, with Benfica and Porto, where he won 2010–11 UEFA Europa League and three Primeira Liga (2008–09, 2010–11 and 2011–12), among other titles. He also played for Paris Saint-Germain, and he currently is at Atletico Madrid, where he won La Liga 2013-14.
  • Diego Forlan (Forward)
    6/17 He is a two-time winner of both the Pichichi Trophy (2004–05, 2008–09) and the European Golden Shoe (2004–05, 2008–09). With Atletico Madrid, he won 2009–10 UEFA Europa League, and with Manchester United he won 2002–03 Premier League. He also played for Villarreal, Independiente, Inter Milan, Internacional (Brazil), and he currently is at Cerezo Osaka.
  • Fernando Morena (Forward)
    7/17 Internationally, he played for Rayo Vallecano, Valencia in 1980, Flamengo and Boca Juniors of Argentina. He won 1980 European Super Cup with Valencia.
  • Alvaro Pereira (Midfielder)
    8/17 With Porto, he won 2010–11 UEFA Europa League, 2010–11 and 2011–12 Primeira Liga. He also played for Argentinos Juniors, Quilmes, CFR Cluj, Inter Milan and he currently is at São Paulo.
  • Sebastian Abreu (Forward)
    9/17 He played for more than 20 teams during his professional career (like River Plate, America, Cruz Azul, Grêmio and Deportivo La Coruña), in six different countries (Mexico, Argentina, Brazil, Spain, Israel and Greece). With River Plate, he won 2008 Clausura and with San Lorenzo he won 2001 Clausura.
  • Alvaro Recoba (Forward)
    10/17 He has played within European football, most notably during eleven years with Inter Milan. He won 1997–98 UEFA Cup, two Serie A (2005–06, 2006–07), and scored 72 goals in 248 games. He also played for Venezia, Torino and Panionios (Greece).
  • Diego Godin (Defense)
    11/17 He has spent most of his professional career in Spain, representing Villarreal and Atlético Madrid and winning five major titles with the latter (2011–12 UEFA Europa League and 2013–14 La Liga, among another trophies).
  • Alcides Ghiggia (Forward)
    12/17 In Italy, he played for AS Roma, where he scored 19 goals at 201 games, and for AC Milan, where he won 1962-63 UEFA Champions League.
  • Fernando Muslera (Goalkeeper)
    13/17 Since 2011, he plays for Galatasaray, where he has won 2011–12 and 2012–13 Turkish Süper Lig, and was awarded as Süper Lig Goalkeeper of the Year 2011–12. He also played for Lazio.
  • Diego Lugano (Defense)
    14/17 He has played for São Paulo FC, where he won 2005 Copa Libertadores, among another titles, Fenerbahçe, where he won 2006–07 and 2010–11 Süper Lig, Paris Saint-Germain, Málaga CF and West Bromwich Albion.
  • Edinson Cavani (Forward)
    15/17 With Palermo, he scored 34 goals in 109 league appearances. With Napoli, he won his first club honour, the 2011-12 Coppa Italia, in which he was top scorer with five goals. He also scored 33 goals each in his first two seasons, followed by 38 goals in his third season, where he also finished as Serie A top scorer with 29 league goals. He currently is at Paris Saint-Germain.
  • Fabian O'Neill (Midfielder)
    16/17 In Italy, he played for Cagliari, where he started to shine internationally, Juventus, where he was 2000–01 Serie A runner-up, and Perugia.
  • Luis Suarez (Forward)
    17/17 Luis Suarez (Forward)