Trophy wait is over at last for Klopp


Klopp's Liverpool proved too strong for Tottenham Hotspur in the UEFA Champions League final in Madrid, an early penalty from Mohamed Salah setting it on its way before substitute Divock Origi settled the match with three minutes to go.

Victory ends a miserable run for Klopp, who had lost his previous six major finals spanning his spell on Merseyside and at previous club Borussia Dortmund.

Here is Klopp's finals misery before he finally had cause for celebration.

2012 DFB-Pokal final: Borussia Dortmund 5 Bayern Munich 2

Shinji Kagawa gave Dortmund an early lead, one that was restored by Mats Hummels's penalty after Bayern's Arjen Robben had converted a spot-kick of his own. Robert Lewandowski then took centre-stage with a hat-trick as Klopp's Dortmund closed out a domestic double.

2013 UEFA Champions League final: Borussia Dortmund 1 Bayern Munich 2

The Klassiker rivals reconvened for the next year's UEFA Champions League final at Wembley but Jupp Heynckes's Bayern now held the upper hand. Mario Mandzukic opened the scoring before Dortmund's Ilkay Gundogan converted a 68th-minute penalty. Franck Ribery's backheel was snaffled by Robben for the winner a minute from time and Bayern would go on to complete the treble.

2014 DFB-Pokal final: Borussia Dortmund 0 Bayern Munich 2 (AET)

Pep Guardiola and Klopp were first pitted against each other when the Catalan took the reins at Bayern from Heynckes for 2013/2014 and duly cantered to Bundesliga glory. Dortmund ended up 19 points behind its rival but the 2014 DFB-Pokal final was a tight and keenly contest affair, goalless after 90 minutes before Robben and Thomas Muller struck in extra-time.

2015 DFB-Pokal final: Borussia Dortmund 1 Wolfsburg 3

Klopp's final season at Dortmund threatened to implode completely before a recovery after the turn of the year averted a feared relegation battle and sealed UEFA Europa League qualification. A dream farewell looked to be in prospect but his side was outgunned in the Pokal by a Kevin De Bruyne-inspired Wolfsburg. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang poached an early opener for BVB but Luiz Gustavo, De Bruyne and Bas Dost all struck in a 16-minute period where goalkeeper Mitchell Langerak did not cover himself in glory.

2016 Carabao Cup final: Liverpool 1 Manchester City 1 (AET, 1-3 on penalties)

Picking up the pieces from the disappointing denouement of Brendan Rodgers's reign, Klopp galvanised Liverpool in the 2015/2016 season and had an early shot at silverware. Philippe Coutinho forced extra time after fellow Brazil international Fernandinho opened the scoring for City. The shootout was all about an Argentinean, as Willy Caballero saved from Lucas Leiva, Coutinho and Adam Lallana, allowing Yaya Toure to dispatch the winning penalty.

2016 UEFA Europa League final: Liverpool 1 Sevilla 3

The Reds rebounded from that setback to plot a path to the UEFA Europa League final, thanks in part to an astonishing comeback against Klopp's old employers Dortmund. Daniel Sturridge dispatched an exquisite 35th-minute opener with the outside of his left boot, only for competition specialists Sevilla to turn the game on its head after the interval. Kevin Gameiro levelled from the restart and a roving Coke struck twice as Unai Emery's team won its third consecutive title.

2018 UEFA Champions League final: Liverpool 1 Real Madrid 3

The Liverpool side Klopp took to his next showpiece was a different beast altogether, operating entirely in line with his high-intensity tactical demands. However, the most valuable part of his ensemble, Salah, was infamously injured in a first-half tussle with Sergio Ramos. Another member of Klopp's vaunted forward line, Sadio Mane, did find the target to equalise but it would be a game bookended by hideous Loris Karius errors and a Gareth Bale wonder goal.