Kane's scandal-stained season ends with MVP

(Getty Images)

Patrick Kane is MVP of the NHL, and it was not very close.

The Chicago Blackhawks star won the Hart Trophy for the league's top player by a landslide on Wednesday, becoming the first United States-born player to capture the honour.

Kane received 121 of a possible 150 first-place votes (1,395 points).

Sidney Crosby of the Stanley Cup-winning Pittsburgh Penguins (800 points) and Jamie Benn of the Dallas Stars (637 points) finished second and third, respectively.

Kane, who led the NHL with 106 points, also took home the Ted Lindsay Award, for the league's MVP as voted on by players, so this was pretty much consensus.

It will go down as the MVP season that nearly never was.

In August, Kane was accused of sexually assaulting a woman in his Buffalo home.

The case, which became mired in controversy, overshadowed training camp and extended into the second month of the season.

It eventually was presented to the district attorney's office, which in November declined to bring criminal charges against Kane, citing a lack of "credible evidence".

Kane was allowed to play for the Blackhawks through the process, amassing a franchise-record 26-game scoring streak along the way.

In March, the NHL elected to not suspend Kane, and he went on to play all 82 regular-season games for the Blackhawks, leading them to an eighth consecutive play-off berth.

His career-high 46 goals were second in the NHL behind Alexander Ovechkin.


Your other 2016 regular season award winners:

Vezina Trophy for top goaltender — Braden Holtby, Washington Capitals (140 points)

2. Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay Lightning (51 points); 3. Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings (36 points)

Norris Trophy for top defenseman — Drew Doughty, Kings (1,254 points)

2. Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators (1,020 points); 3. Brent Burns, San Jose Sharks (619 points)

Calder Trophy for top rookie — Artemi Panarin, Blackhawks (1,258 points)

2. Shayne Gostisbehere, Philadelphia Flyers (955 points); 3. Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers (858 points)

Selke Trophy for top defensive forward — Anze Kopitar, Kings (1,145 points)

2. Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins (996 points); 3. Ryan Kesler, Anaheim Ducks (424 points)

Lady Byng Trophy for sportsmanship — Anze Kopitar, Kings (817 points)

2. Aleksander Barkov, Florida Panthers (475 points); 3. Loui Eriksson, Bruins (388 points)

Jack Adams Award for coach of the year — Barry Trotz, Capitals (344 points)

2. Gerard Gallant, Panthers (203 points); 3. Lindy Ruff, Stars (75 points)