Hamilton storms to Spa pole

Getty Images

Lewis Hamilton claimed his 10th pole position of the 2015 Formula One season as he comfortably out-qualified Mercedes team-mate Nico Rosberg at the Belgian Grand Prix.

Hamilton produced a superb second flying lap of one minute and 47.197 seconds at Spa-Francorchamps to take top spot on the grid for Sunday's race.

Rosberg could not get close to that time as he finished 0.458secs behind.

Williams' Valtteri Bottas was an impressive third, with Romain Grosjean in fourth, although the Lotus driver will start the race in ninth due to a five-place gearbox penalty.

Force India's Sergio Perez also caught the eye by qualifying fifth ahead of Daniel Ricciardo's Red Bull, the Williams of Felipe Massa, Lotus' Pastor Maldonado and four-time world champion Sebastian Vettel, whose Ferrari team struggled.

Vettel's team-mate Kimi Raikkonen will start 14th after his Ferrari broke down in the second qualifying session due to an oil pressure drop, with the Toro Rosso of Max Verstappen behind him in the 15th following power unit issues in the first session.

The McLaren duo of Jenson Button and Fernando Alonso - who suffered power unit problems in final practice - qualified 17th and 18th but will start from the back of the grid after being hit with a combined 55-place grid drop for previous engine changes this weekend.


1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) 1:47.197
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:47.655
3. Valtteri Bottas (Williams) 1:48.537
4. Romain Grosjean (Lotus) 1:48.561
5. Sergio Perez (Force India) 1:48.599
6. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull) 1:48.639
7. Felipe Massa (Williams) 1:48.685
8. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus) 1:48.754
9. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari) 1:48.825
10. Carlos Sainz Jr (Toro Rosso) 1:49.771