Sports Burst - Mourinho Gets Weird

Getty Images

 

Special One has special praise for Manchester City ahead of derby 

 

This is weird, disconcerting and probably downright un-American. 

We are talking about Jose Mourinho's spookily chirpy mood. 

A week-long non-funk alarmingly continued on Friday with the Manchester United manager turning down the opportunity to have a pop at this weekend's rivals, Manchester City, over recent FFP-dodging allegations

 

In fact, Mourinho even praised the noisy neighbors declaring that Manchester City's quality and organization was "untouchable" and that the weekend's clash would be "a difficult match against a difficult team."

Heaven knows what will happen on Sunday if United pull off a repeat of last season's dramatic victory in the Etihad when a 3-2 win cancelled City's title-winning party at home. It may be too much to bear for an already creaking universe. 

Jose Mourinho will be a hot topic on the Locker Room on whether he was a hero or zero for taking on the Juventus crowd after defeating the Old Lady 2-1 in the Champions League. Join Kay Murray and the gang at 7:30PM ET / 4:30PM PT 

 

 

 

Jurgen Klopp turns testy on Liverpool not being Manchester City 

 

Just a few miles away on Friday morning and at roughly the same time, Liverpool's Jurgen Klopp was feeling the heat a little after the Champions League defeat to Red Star Belgrade. The German fought back in the best manner possible in Sports Burst's humble point of view - sarcasm. 

"We win a game then afterwards we have to say sorry that we did not win it in the City way so, whatever," huffed the Liverpool manager ahead of Sunday's encounter against Fulham.

The real-life version of Sports Burst will be mulling over all this and so much more at 12PM ET / 9AM PT. Just head to our beIN SPORTS USA Facebook page. 

On a less amusing topic, Arsenal fans will hope to have encouraging news on Danny Wellbeck's injured ankle after the unlucky forward was stretchered off during Thursday's Europa League tie against Sporting CP. 

 

 

 

Lille with chance to put pressure on PSG and an all-American day in Bundesliga

 

So, what's cooking on Friday in the wide, wide world of soccer? Quite a lot as it happens. 

After a Lille wain last week in a defeat against PSG, the Ligue Un side has the chance to move into second spot with a home win against Strasbourg. That clash is live on beIN SPORTS at 2:40PM ET / 11:40AM PT.

 

La Liga is serving up the intriguing situation of Levante leapfrogging above Real Madrid in the standings, should the in-form Valencia side get the better of the very out-of-form Real Sociedad. 

It's a battle of the 'Fs' in Serie A as Frosinone continues to fight against an inevitable relegation with a game against visiting Fiorentina. That clash is over on beIN SPORTS Espanyol. 

CONNECT has quite the contest at 2PM ET / 11AM PT with the second-leg of the CAF Champions League final. ES Tunis is hosting Egyptian giants, Al-Ahly but 3-1 down in the tie. 

 

There is a USA tinge to today's Bundesliga match with a couple of USMNT players up against each other with Hannover 96 striker, Bobby Wood, running at Wolfsburg defender John Brooks. 

Catch the best of the day's action on the XTRA at 7PM ET / 4PM PT. 

 

 

 

Timbers stay solid to reach Conference playoff final 

 

If you are East Coast Posse in the house then Friday's soccer action has already begun with the wee-hours culmination of the dramatic MLS Western Conference semifinal second-leg clash between Seattle Sounders and Portland Timbers.

 

The game went into extra time and then penalties in the CenturyLink Field as the two local rivals battled for a Conference final spot. In the end it was Portland Timbers who won a penalty shoot-out to play either Sporting KC or Real Salt Lake. 

That clash along with the two Eastern Conference games will be taking place on a fairly sizzling Sunday for Major League Soccer.