USA Canada & Mexico win the right to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup

The USA, Canada and Mexico have been awarded the rights to host the 2026 FIFA World Cup. The joint bid from the North American countries took the majority of the votes from the FIFA Congress which took place earlier today in Moscow.

The United bid beat the Moroccan delegation with a score of 134-65 votes overall. The 2024 World Cup is set to be the biggest ever with 48 teams taking part in the tournament. 

This is the very first time that three nations will host the World Cup, with Canada never hosting the tournament. Whilst the United States (1994) & Mexico (1970 & 1986) had previously hosted the competition.