More Glory for Justin Gatlin in Diamond League Finale

Getty Images


Justin Gatlin was crowned the overall Diamond League 100 metres champion after securing the narrowest of victories at the final meeting of this year's competition in Brussels.

With arch-rival Usain Bolt absent, the 33-year-old American ran 9.98 seconds to pip Femi Ogunode of Qatar who was also given the same time, while Jimmy Vicaut finished third in 9.99.

Ogunode was not to be denied in the 200m, however, cruising home ahead of Miguel Francis and Rasheed Dwyer.

There was a much tighter finish in the highly-anticipated women's 200m clash between Olympic champion Allyson Felix and world champion Dafne Schippers.

Felix didn't contest the 200m in Beijing in order to concentrate on the 400m which she duly won, but she was edged out by Schippers at the Memorial van Damme, with the Dutch woman coming home in 22.12.

There was some compensation for Felix, however, as she still claimed the overall Diamond Trophy by two points.

Nijel Amos was another athlete to finish second but still secure overall honours as he was beaten by Adam Kszczot in the 800m.

The USA predictably swept the board in the women's 100m hurdles, Dawn Harper-Nelson leading Sharika Nelvis and Jasmin Stowers home to claim the Diamond Trophy after the three compatriots had headed into the race tied for top spot.

And a new meeting record was set in the women's mile as Kenya's Faith Kipyegon crossed the line in 4:16.71, ahead of Holland's Sifan Hassan.

Earlier in the night, American Joe Kovacs defeated closest rival David Storl to claim the men's shot put title, Jeffrey Gibson of the Bahamas won the 400m in a photo finish and Tunisian Habiba Ghribi set a new African record of 9:05.36 in taking out the steeplechase.

There was also joy for world champion Christian Taylor, who defeated arch-rival Pedro Pablo Pichardo to take the season prize in the men's triple jump, while the women's discus title was won by Croatia's Sandra Perkovic and Frenchman Renaud Lavillenie fell just short of 6m, but was still crowned men's pole vault champion.