10 strange facts about Copa America


Over the past 100 years, Copa America witnessed so many strange facts and figures, here are some of them.

Chile won their first ever Copa America title in the previous edition.

Argentina’s Lionel Messi, the current FIFA Player of the Year didn’t win the Copa America or the best player award as he refused to accept Copa America best player award last year.

The Ecuadorian fans don’t like to remember what happened on January 22, 1942 as they suffered a 0-12 defeat against Argentina which also recorded the biggest Scoreline in the Copa America history.

Norberto Mendez of Argentina and Zizinho of Brazil are the all-time leading scorers of Copa America with 17 goals for each.

On June 01, 1999 Martin Palermo of Argentina missed three penalty kicks in a 3-0 defeat to Colombia.

José Piendibene of Uruguay scored the first goal in the Copa America in a 4-0 victory over Chile in 1916.  

In 2011 edition, Paraguay were able to reach the finals without winning a single game in the tournament as they were held to draw in their three matches at the group stage. Their success in the quarterfinals and semifinals was achieved by the way of penalty shoot-outs before losing the final match against Uruguay by 3-0.

Guillermo Stábile coached Argentina to six Copa America Trophies.

The Argentinian school of coaching took the center stage as the four teams that reached the semifinals were led by Argentinian coaches. Chile were led by Jorge Sampaoli, Peru by Ricardo Gareca, Argentina by Gerardo Martino and Paraguay by Ramon Diaz.

No team out of the CONMEBOL claimed the title.