Lynn, Stanlake named in Australia ODI squad

Getty Images

Chris Lynn and Billy Stanlake have been named in a 14-man Australia squad for their one-day international series against Pakistan.

Despite a 3-0 win over New Zealand in December, Australia opted to make three changes – with Usman Khawaja, Lynn and Stanlake coming in.

George Bailey, Aaron Finch and Hilton Cartwright have been omitted.

Lynn has dominated the Big Bash League with 309 runs at 154.5, while Stanlake has six wickets at 17.83 – albeit in the shortest format of the game.

"Billy Stanlake is an exciting prospect who bowls with genuine pace and is a player who has made a terrific return to action for the Adelaide Strikers in the KFC Big Bash League after a lengthy time out through injury," Australia interim national selector Trevor Hohns said.

"Billy himself and the medical staff involved in his recovery have done a great job, he's back playing again and playing well and we believe that now is the right time to give him a chance to stretch himself.

"Chris Lynn is in superb form for the Brisbane Heat and although that is a different form of the game we believe it is right that we give him the chance to show whether he can convert his wonderful ball-striking ability to ODIs.

"Usman Khawaja has been in excellent touch throughout this Test summer, is able to bat anywhere in the top order and deserves another chance to demonstrate his ODI credentials."

Despite their heavy workloads, pace duo Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc are part of the squad for the five-match series.

However, Hohns said both would be given some rest ahead of the Test series in India.

"Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood have both been included but given the high number of overs they have bowled over the past two months and the demands they will face in the Test series in India starting in February, we will look to give each of them a match or two off at some stage," he said.

"We are helped in that regard by the quality and variety of bowling we have within this squad and any break the pair may get will allow them to recharge and also to work on their strength ahead of a demanding overseas Test assignment."

The first match of the ODI series is in Brisbane on Friday.

Australia: Steve Smith, David Warner, Patrick Cummins, James Faulkner, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa.