Sports Burst – United We Fall?

SB MOu

Former EPL giants want their crown back
 
The memories of the last glorious Premier League title win are starting to fade.

The club didn’t exactly move mountains in the transfer market over the summer, bested by the financial power of Manchester City.
 
And the coach looks as unrelentingly gloomy and somber as ever, downplaying the team’s chances of winning back the Premier League title after too long an absence.
 
But on Friday, the EPL season’s opening clash at Old Trafford offers a new hope, a new vision, a new inspiration to get back on that Premier League podium where Leicester City feel they belong.
 

 

The opponents in Friday’s clash for the Foxes, Manchester United, pretty much feel the same way except the last time that the Red Devils won the title was five-years-ago when Taylor Swift was still beloved by all. But all the other boxes are ticked, except while Leicester lost Riyad Mahrez to Man City, United managed to keep everyone and despite Jose Mourinho’s doom and gloom over the transfer window, last season’s second place finishers still have Romalu Lukaku, Alexis Sanchez, Paul Pogba, Juan Mata, David de Gea, Jesse Lingard and Marcus Rashford knocking about.

Tune into the returning Locker Room at 7:30PM ET / 4:30PM PT where our fine pundits will make their predictions for the EPL season to come and look back at a busy week in the transfer market.
 
Marseille kick off more fancy French football
 
Across the English Channel and Ligue Un is waking up from its summer slumber – or perhaps that should be hangover – considering France are now World Cup winners and a huge chunk of that team are set to be rolling into action for their clubs.
 
PSG start off as strong favorites – the opening clash is against Caen on beIN SPORTS on Sunday at 2:55PM ET / 11:55AM PT.


 
 
But we are getting ahead of ourselves as the mighty Marseille – who fancy making a run at the title should PSG not reign supreme – is kicking things off with a clash against Toulouse live on beIN SPORTS on Friday at 2:30PM ET / 11:30AM PT. And what’s that? Turkey is underway too? Yep – Galatasaray takes on Ankaragucu live on beIN SPORTS CONNECT at 2:45PM ET / 11:45AM PT.
 
The XTRA is the one-stop shop for the best of all the action today at 7PM ET / 4PM PT.
 
Modric confuses world with chirpy tweet
 
What does it mean! Luka Modric has only tweeted about three times in 18 months. Which is quite sensible, really.
 
But the third of those was on Friday with the footballer posting the cryptic message “back to work!” on Twitter with a picture of a soccer ball and a hands-together sign. What does it mean? A deal has been struck with Florentino Perez for a new contract? A move to Inter is off? He was sending a message to his agent? Or to Florentino Perez to work on his deal? Gaaahh!



One Real Madrid man who is definitely going because it actually happened in real life with witnesses without the confusing sheen of social media is Theo Hernandez who came, saw, stayed for a year and did not do that much – but is now heading off to Real Sociedad on loan. And goalkeeper Kiko Casilla might move to Sevilla to continue the Keylor, Courtois, Kepa, Kiko keeper kerfuffle.
 
And here’s a curious one! Real Madrid to scoop up Thiago Alcantara from Bayern Munich? One to put on the wood-smoker whilst the rumor is stared at thoroughly.
 
Head to our beIN SPORTS USA Facebook page at 12PM ET / 9AM PT for the latest deals and dodgy rumors.
 
Napoli didn’t get the Memo
 
Elsewhere and Memo Ochoa’s move to Napoli has hit some rocks with a disagreement between the Serie A club and Standard Liege on the terms of a loan deal for the Mexican keeper. Andre Silva could be leaving Milan for Sevilla. Or he may not. Who knows!
 
Nikola Kalinic has been given the number nine shirt at Atletico Madrid, the number previously held by France’s Kevin Gameiro who is looking for the Rojiblanco exit door.
 


 
And PSG for Barcelona’s Ousmane Dembele anyone? No? Ok. Just checking.
 
WHAT IS SPORTS BURST?
 
The life philosophy of Sports Burst is that if you are not upsetting someone, then you are not trying hard enough. Sports Burst is a daily trawl and troll through the morning's sports news to bring you fact-nuggets to make you both smile and swear. Hopefully at the same time.