O'Shea names Italy Six Nations squad

Getty Images

O'Shea names Italy Six Nations squad

Conor O'Shea has named the uncapped Federico Ruzza in Italy's 32-man squad for the Six Nations.

Zebre lock Ruzza is the only player yet to have played a full international to be included in the first Six Nations squad named by O'Shea.

Ruzza's team-mate Dario Chistolini also gets the nod in the absence of injured prop Simone Ferrari.

Sergio Parisse will captain the Azzurri as they attempt to make up for the disappointment of losing all five games last year to end up with the dreaded wooden spoon.

O'Shea has already masterminded a shock win over South Africa since taking charge and will be looking to claim the scalp of Wales in his first Six Nations game at the helm at Stadio Olimpico on February 5.


Italy squad:

Forwards: Pietro Ceccarelli, Dario Chistolini, Lorenzo Cittadini, Andrea Lovotti, Sami Panico, Tommaso D'Apice, Omel Gega, Leonardo Ghiraldini, George Fabio Biagi, Joshua Furno, Marcu Fuser, Federico Ruzza, Andries Van Schalkwyk, Marco Barbini, Simone Favaro, Maxime Mata Mbanda, Francesco Minto, Sergio Parisse (captain), Abraham Jurgens Steyn.

Backs: Giorgio Bronzini, Edoardo Gori, Marcello Violi, Tommaso Allan, Carlo Canna, Tommaso Benvenuti, Tommaso Boni, Michele Campagnaro, Luke McLean, Giulio Bisegni, Angelo Esposito, Giovambattista Venditti, Edoardo Padovani.